12 Days of Christmas – #7 SWEET TOOTH by Jeff Lemire

Posted on 19 December 2012 by GI Jolie

Check out of pick for #7 of the Syndicate’s 12 Day’s of Christmas list!

Gus Sweet Tooth
Written and
Illustrated by Jeff Lemire
Colours by Jose Villerubia
Published by Vertigo


Compared to the majority of this list one could consider Sweet Tooth to be the youngest comic on the list but that doesn’t take away from the fact the series has both ‘instant hit’ and ‘collection must-have’ written all over it.

Written by Canadian comic book creator Jeff Lemire (Animal Man, Essex County Trilogy) Sweet is a tale of young boy and his father. Gus, the boy, and his father are still recovering from the death of Gus’ mother as it seems she has fallen victim to a disease that has claimed the lives of many people. They live out in the woods in a tiny, little cabin and it turns out that they may not be as alone after all.

Did I mention Gus has antlers? Or that he has an affinity for candy bars?

That’s pretty much all I can tell you about the story without giving too much away because this is the kind of story the truly unfolds as more secrets and information are revealed.

Imagine Sweet Tooth is a grapefruit. One of those ruby red ones. When you start to peel it, you may accidently get juice in your eye, but you keep hacking away at the rind in order to get to the delicious centre. Now, once you’ve peeled through you get all kinds of juicy bits! Some are sweet and some are sour –mostly it’s going to be sour and all along, while you’re getting your hands dirty, you can’t help but think, “Gee I should have brought a knife”.

The good news is the series is currently one issue away from completion for a total of forty not so daunting single issues. The bad news is … the series is only one issue away from completion. Meaning done. Forever. Which is sad for fans of a comic that is so rich, and deep, and layered.

You have just got to read Sweet Tooth for yourself to find out what it’s all about. Currently the single issues have been collected into 5 volumes that you can purchase on Amazon using the links below!

Sweet Tooth Volume 1: Out of the Woods (Collects Sweet Tooth #1-6) – http://amzn.to/RAskIr
Sweet Tooth Volume 2: In Captivity (Collects Sweet Tooth #6-11) – http://amzn.to/UEGNPi
Sweet Tooth Volume 3: Animal Armies (Collects Sweet Tooth #12-17) – http://amzn.to/ZdMCdW
Sweet Tooth Volume 4: Endangered Species (Collects Sweet Tooth #18-25) – http://amzn.to/SHdAI1
Sweet Tooth Volume 5: Unnatural Habitats (Collects Sweet Tooth #26-32) – http://amzn.to/V3On9q

Here are some images from the series that will give you an idea of how groovy Sweet Tooth is!